Stadt: Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgien

Frist: 2017-04-30

Beginn: 2017-11-08

Ende: 2017-11-10


Ampliación del plazo para el envío de resúmenes. Nueva fecha límite: 30 de abril de 2017

Segunda circular

5th International Conference “Discourse Markers in Romance Languages: Boundaries and Interfaces”
Université catholique de Louvain, 8 – 10 November 2017

The Linguistic Research Unit of the Université catholique de Louvain (UCL) invites researchers on discourse markers in Romance languages to submit contributions for the 5th International Conference on Discourse Markers in Romance Languages: Boundaries and Interfaces, which will be held from November 8 to November 10, 2017 in Louvain-la-Neuve (Belgium).

The Conference is one of a series of conferences on discourse markers in Romance languages (Madrid, 2010; Buenos Aires, 2011; Campinas, 2012; Heidelberg 2015) and aims to build on the previous events. The conference serves as a platform for internationally renowned linguists and young researchers alike to exchange views and ideas and to broaden their research perspectives. This year’s theme will specifically question issues of categorization and boundaries of the class of discourse markers. In this respect, discourse markers studies invite to further investigate the interfaces between several levels of linguistic analysis (Prosody, Syntax, Semantics, Pragmatics, Discourse).

With special reference to discourse marker research, the conference will be an opportunity to look at the findings provided so far by theoretical and applied linguistics and related disciplines. The following plenary speakers have already confirmed their attendance:

  • Prof. Maria Josep Cuenca, Universitat de València: Contrastive markers in contrast in Spanish and Catalan
  • Dr. Amália Mendes, Universidade de Lisboa: Lexicographic applications of discourse markers in Portuguese
  • Prof. Jacqueline Visconti, Università degli Studi di Genova: On the diachrony of discourse markers, with a focus on Italian


We welcome abstracts for papers and posters on any theoretical, empirical or applied topic related to discourse markers in Romance languages, including (but not restricted to):

  • definition of the discourse marker category;
  • lexicons of discourse markers;
  • discourse markers and their relation to other pragmatic categories;
  • syntax-prosody-discourse interface;
  • sociolinguistic approaches to discourse markers;
  • variation of discourse markers across registers, languages and language varieties;
  • translation studies;
  • L1 and L2 acquisition of discourse markers;
  • diachronic studies;
  • experimental studies;
  • corpus-based and computational studies;
  • applied studies (business language, legal discourse, educational settings, etc.).

Conference presentation modalities

1. Oral presentations
- Presentations should be no longer than 20 minutes. Presentations will be followed by a 10- minute discussion

2. Posters
- Posters should not be larger than A0 size (118.9 × 84.1 cm, landscape or portrait)
- Posters may be printed in colour or in black and white
- Authors must bring the printed posters to the conference
- Contributors are requested to be present during the poster sessions
- The poster session(s) will be preceded by a short one-minute poster boost session where authors will have the opportunity to present the topic of their research.

Abstracts and conference languages
Presentations may be held in English or any Romance language. Plenary conferences will be held in English.

Submission of abstracts
Abstracts should not exceed one page (single spacing, 12-point Times New Roman font, not including figures and references, and must be uploaded as pdf). Abstracts can be written in English or any Romance language.

Please submit your abstracts at the latest by April, 15 2017 to

For the submission of abstracts for posters, you can either select the poster option on the online registration site or apply for both an oral presentation and a poster contribution. In the latter case, the scientific committee reserves the right to decide which option will be more appropriate for the proposal submitted.

Important dates

15 April 2017 Deadline for abstract submission
15 June 2017 Notification of acceptance
8 – 10 November 2017 Symposium dates

Registration will be possible from July 1, 2017

Conference fees

Early-bird fee (by 15 September 2017)
Doctoral students 80 €
Other participants 120 €

Regular fee
Doctoral students 100 €
Other participants 140 €

Conference dinner 50 €

Scientific Committee

• Esperanza Acín Villa (Universidade de A Coruña)
• Marta Albelda Marco (Universitat de València)
• Joanna Blochowiak (Université de Genève)
• Margarita Borreguero Zuloaga (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
• Chloé Braud (University of Copenhague)
• Ludivine Crible (Université catholique de Louvain)
• Iria da Cunha (Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia)
• Laurence Danlos (Université Paris 7 Diderot)
• Anna-Maria De Cesare (Universität Basel)
• Gaétane Dostie (Université de Sherbrooke)
• Benjamin Fagard (CNRS, ENS & Université Paris 3 Sorbonne Nouvelle)
• Mar Garachana Camarero (Universitat de Barcelona)
• Gaëtanelle Gilquin (Université catholique de Louvain)
• Sonia Gómez-Jordana (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
• Antonio Hidalgo Navarro (Universitat de València)
• Lydia-Mai Ho-Dac (Université de Toulouse)
• Martin Hummel (Universität Graz)
• Julia Lavid Lopez (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
• Diana Lewis (Université Aix-Marseille)
• Araceli López Serena (Universidad de Sevilla)
• Jacques Moeschler (Université de Genève)
• Silvia Murillo Ornat (Universidad de Zaragoza)
• Salvador Pons Bordería (Universitat de València)
• José Portolés Lázaro (Universidad Autónoma de Madrid)
• Sorina Postolea (University of Iasi)
• Laurent Prévot (Université Aix-Marseille)
• Amalia Rodrígues Somolinos (Universidad Complutense de Madrid)
• Laure Vieu (IRIT – Université de Toulouse III – Paul Sabatier)
• Sandrine Zufferey (Universität Bern)

Organising Committee (in alphabetical order)

Coordination: Liesbeth Degand, Université catholique de Louvain

Research Group Valibel – Discourse & Variation, Université catholique de Louvain []

  • Ludivine Crible, Université catholique de Louvain
  • Barbara de Cock, Université catholique de Louvain
  • Maïté Dupont, Université catholique de Louvain
  • Julien Perrez, Université de Liège
  • Inés Recio Fernández, Universität Heidelberg
  • Anne-Catherine Simon, Université catholique de Louvain

Beitrag von: Inés Recio Fernández

Redaktion: Marcel Schmitt